ACM Prize in Computing

How to Nominate


The ACM Prize in Computing recognizes an early to mid-career fundamental, innovative contribution in computing that, through its depth, impact and broad implications, exemplifies the greatest achievements in the discipline. The award is given for achievements during the early years of an individual's career, although enough time must have passed to clearly establish evidence of impact (i.e., candidates are typically within 8-16 years of the terminal degree, with consideration made for interrupted or second careers).  Nominated candidates may remain in consideration for a few years after their nomination.  The award is presented each June at the ACM Awards Banquet and is accompanied by a prize of $250,000 plus travel expenses to the banquet.  Financial support for the award is provided by Infosys Ltd.

Next Deadline

January 15, 2020  - End of Day, Anywhere on Earth (AoE), UTC -12 hrs.

Selection Criteria

Nominations will be reviewed for the candidate’s personal contributions to a major innovation that has impact on computing theory or practice. While a sufficient amount of time must have elapsed for the degree of impact to be assessed, the contribution should be relatively recent (typically within the last decade or so). While there are no specific requirements as to age or time since last degree requirements, the nominee typically would be approaching mid-career. Nominators are advised to review the list of previous winners of the award to gain an impression of its scope and nature.


Nominations for the ACM Prize in Computing Award should be submitted using the online nomination form.  Submitted materials should explain the contribution in terms understandable to a non-specialist. Each nomination involves several components:

  • Name, address, phone number, and email address of nominator (person making the nomination). The most appropriate person to submit a nomination would be a recognized member of the community who is not from the same organization as the candidate and who can address the candidate's impact on the broader community.
  • Name, address, and email address of the candidate (person being nominated). It is ACM's policy not to tell candidates who has nominated or endorsed them.
  • Suggested citation if the candidate is selected. This should be a concise statement (maximum of 25 words) describing the key technical or professional accomplishment for which the candidate merits this award. Note that the final wording for awardees will be at the discretion of the Award Committee.
  • Nomination statement (200-500 words in length) addressing why the candidate should receive this award. This may describe the candidate's work in general, but should draw particular attention to the contributions that merit the award.
  • Copy of the candidate's CV, listing publications, patents, honors, service contributions, etc.
  • Supporting letters from at least 3, and not more than 5, endorsers. Endorsers should be chosen to represent a range of perspectives and institutions and provide additional insights or evidence of the candidate's impact. Each letter must include the name, address, and telephone number of the endorser, and should focus on the accomplishments which that endorser can attest to and place in context. The nominator should collect the letters and bundle them for submission.

For questions on the above, please contact us at, or Jade Morris, ACM Awards Committee Liaison.  ACM's conflict-of-interest guidelines apply to all award nominations.


ACM and Infosys Foundation Honor Innovator in Network Security Research

The 2015 ACM-Infosys Foundation Award in the Computing Sciences recognizes Stefan Savage for his innovative research in network security, privacy and reliability. Savage is Professor in the Computer Science and Engineering department's Systems and Networking Group at UC San Diego's Jacobs School of Engineering.

2015 ACM-Infosys Foundation Award recipient Stefan Savage

Media Coverage
Economic Times (India)