About the ACM Prize in Computing

The ACM Prize in Computing recognizes an early to mid-career fundamental innovative contribution in computing that, through its depth, impact and broad implications, exemplifies the greatest achievements in the discipline. The award carries a prize of $250,000. Financial support is provided by an endowment from Infosys Ltd.

The ACM Prize in Computing was previously known as the ACM-Infosys Foundation Award in the Computing Sciences from 2007 through 2015.


Recent ACM Prize News

Dina Katabi Receives 2017 ACM Prize in Computing

ACM has named Dina Katabi of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (MIT CSAIL) the recipient of the 2017 ACM Prize in Computing for creative contributions to wireless systems. She and her team pioneered the use of wireless signals in applications that can sense humans behind walls, determine their movements and even surmise their emotional states. These trailblazing human-sensing technologies hold out promise for use in several applications of daily life.

2017 ACM Prize in Computing recipient Dina Katabi

Seminal Papers by 2017 ACM Prize Recipient Dina Katabi

"See through walls with WiFi!" 2013 ACM SIGCOMM Conference (with Fadel Adib)

"Congestion control for high bandwidth-delay product networks," 2002 ACM SIGCOMM Conference (with Mark Handley and Charlie Rohrs)

"XORs in the air: practical wireless network coding," 2006 ACM SIGCOMM Conference (with Sachin Katti, Hariharan Rahul, Wenjun Hu, Muriel Médard, and Jon Crowcroft)

"Trading structure for randomness in wireless opportunistic routing," 2007 ACM SIGCOMM Conference (with Szymon Chachulski, Michael Jennings, and Sachin Katti)

"A measurement study of available bandwidth estimation tools," 2003 ACM SIGCOMM conference on internet measurement (with Jacob Strauss and Frans Kaashoek)

"Embracing wireless interference: analog network coding," 2007 ACM SIGCOMM Conference (with Sachin Katti and Shyamnath Gollakota)