Award nominations deadlines occur throughout the year, with a heavy concentration in January.  Please refer to the Nomination Process page for each award, which includes not only information about the deadline but also guidance for preparing each type of nomination. ACM's conflict-of-interest guidelines apply to all award nominations.

Read "How to Nominate" instructions for each ACM Award, and consult the table below for a quick overview of ACM Awards. For questions on the above, please contact us at, or Jade Morris (, ACM Awards Committee Liaison.


Overview of ACM Awards

How to Nominate Award Description

Career-Long Contributions

ACM A.M. Turing Award ACM's oldest and most prestigious award, for an individual who has made lasting technical contributions to computing
ACM Distinguished Service Award Outstanding service contributions to the computing community at large
ACM Fellow Leaders recognized for outstanding technical, professional, and service contributions

Early-to-Mid-Career Contributions

ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award Outstanding young computer professional of the year, on the basis of a single major contribution
ACM Prize in Computing Contributions by "young" individuals to innovations with fundamental impact and broad implications
ACM Distinguished Member Leaders recognized for contributions to computing research, practice, education, or policy
ACM Senior Member Members recognized for technical and professional accomplishments      

Specific Types of Contributions

ACM Charles P. "Chuck" Thacker Breakthrough in Computing Award Individuals who reflect Thacker's pioneering contributions in making a surprising or disruptive leapfrog in computing ideas or technologies, and his inspiration of generations of young computer scientists. 
ACM Eugene L. Lawler Award Individuals/groups making significant humanitarian contributions through the use of computing technology
ACM Gordon Bell Prize Innovations in applying high-performance computing to science, engineering, and large-scale data analytics
ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award New teaching methodologies, new curriculum development, or significant contribution to ACM's educational mission
ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award Theoretical accomplishments that have had a significant, demonstrable effect on the practice of computing
ACM Policy Award Significant influence on the formation or execution of public policy related to computing
ACM Presidential Award Special contributions, as defined by the ACM President
ACM Software System Award Institutions/individuals who developed software systems with lasting influence on computing
ACM Athena Lecturer Award Outstanding women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to computing
ACM-AAAI Allen Newell Award Contributions with significant breadth across computing, or that bridge computer science and other disciplines
ACM-IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award Contributions to hardware-software design or the design/analysis of computing and digital systems
ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award Contributions to programmability/productivity in high-performance computing, together with significant service
Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award Individuals who have made outstanding service contributions to the Association
SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science and Engineering Development of mathematical/computational tools and methods for solving science and engineering problems

Student Contributions

ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award Superior research and writing by doctoral candidates in computer science and engineering
ACM-IEEE CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowships Exceptional PhD students focusing on HPC applications, networking, storage, or large-scale data analysis
ACM India Doctoral Dissertation Award Best doctoral dissertation in computing from an academic institution in India
ACM/CSTA Cutler-Bell Prize in High School Computing Winners of an annual challenge to high school computer science students in the U.S.
International Science and Engineering Fair Outstanding high school projects at ISEF that are related to the field of computing

ACM Launches New Award to Recognize Breakthrough Achievements

The ACM Charles P. "Chuck" Thacker Breakthrough in Computing Award celebrates the late pioneer's contributions in computing and his inspirational mentorship of generations of computer scientists, by recognizing individuals with the same out-of-the-box thinking and “can-do” approach to solving the unsolved that Thacker exhibited. Financial support for the $100,000 prize is provided by Microsoft. Nominations will be accepted through January 15, 2019.