Administered jointly by ACM and IEEE Computer Society. The award of $5000 is given for contributions to computer and digital systems architecture where the field of computer architecture is considered at present to encompass the combined hardware-software design and analysis of computing and digital systems.

Computer Architecture Innovator Trevor Mudge Wins ACM - IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award

The 2014 ACM - IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award goes to Trevor Mudge of the University of Michigan for contributions to low-power computer architecture for high-performance microprocessors.  Mudge’s inventive approaches have led to new technologies that reduce energy consumption of microprocessors while maintaining acceptable performance in an era of exponential growth in embedded processors and system-on-chip designs.   His contributions greatly influenced both the research literature and the actual products made possible by his research.  The Eckert-Mauchly Award is known as the computer architecture community’s most prestigious award.   Mudge will receive the 2014 Eckert-Mauchly Award,  at the International Symposium on Computer Architecture, 16 June 2014, in Minneapolis, MN, USA.