This award may be given to up to three individuals per year, for entirely different activities, and they are selected based on the value and degree of service to ACM.

ACM Honors International Leaders Who Helped Advance Computer Science In The Digital Age


Donna Cappo, ACM Director of Special Interest Group Services and Russell Harris, ACM Director of Financial Operations and Budgeting, recipients of the Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award. Cappo was recognized for leadership in guiding ACM Special Interest Groups, related conferences, events and the countless volunteers who organize and run them. Harris was honored for his long tenure as ACM’s financial leading light, whose keen business acumen is responsible for accounting practices that continue to strengthen ACM’s fiscal structure.

Press release 

Zvi Kedem named 2012 recipient of the Outstanding Service Award

Zvi Kedem was recognized for his leadership in rebuilding the ACM Computing Classification System (CCS) as a modern cognitive map of the computing field for the worldwide computing community.  As editor-in-chief, Kedem managed the effort to revise and automate the key component that underlies the ACM Digital Library’s search index infrastructure.  With his recruited team of domain experts, he managed a year-long effort to develop a set of computing concepts that enable discovery of both topic-specific works and people with subject-specific expertise. The project's results are reflected throughout the ACM DL, and are seen in ACM’s institutional profiles, conference and journal views, and Special Interest Group descriptions.  With more than 50 scientific publications, Kedem has pursued research in Computer Graphics, Database Systems, Data Mining, Parallel and Distributed Computing, and Computing Theory.  He has also served on funding and review panels, program committees of scientific meetings, and editorial boards of scientific journals.  He is a professor and past chair of the Computer Science Department at New York University's Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, and a Fellow of ACM and IEEE.