You are here: Home europe
ocument Actions

ACM Europe

ACM Europe logo

The ACM Europe Council was created by ACM to recognize and support European ACM members and activities.

Call for Nominations for ACM Europe Council Election

The ACM Europe Nominating Committee is preparing to nominate candidates to serve on the ACM Europe Council.

Suggestions for candidates are solicited. One must be an ACM Professional member active in Europe to nominate and be nominated. Names should be sent by 20 February 2015 to Gabriele Anderst-Kotsis, ACM Europe Secretary ( and Pat Ryan, ACM Chief Operating Officer ( With each recommendation, please include a one-page document providing background information on the candidate and the name/contact information for three references. Fabrizio Gagliardi is the Chair of the Nominating Committee, and the members are Wendy Hall, Mashhuda Glencross, and Gabriele Anderst-Kotsis.

ACM Europe has been very active and has increased its visibility in Europe. To learn about the activities of ACM Europe go to

About the ACM Europe Council

The ACM Europe Council aims to increase the level and visibility of ACM activities across Europe. The Council is comprised of European computer scientists committed to fostering the visibility and relevance of ACM in Europe, and is focused on a wide range of European ACM activities, from high-quality ACM conferences in Europe, to expanding ACM chapters, to encouraging greater participation of Europeans in all dimensions of ACM.

  • Join with other computing and scientific organizations in Europe to offer new programs and activities
  • Encourage nominations of ACM European members for the advanced member grades of Senior Member, Distinguished Member, and Fellow
  • Work with ACM SIGs to increase the number of ACM conferences in Europe
  • Increase the number of ACM chapters and level of chapter activity in Europe

Chair: Fabrizio Gagliardi | Author profile

Vice Chair: Wendy Hall, University of Southampton, UK (former ACM President) | Author profile

Secretary: Gabriele Kotsis, Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria | Author profile

Treasurer: Mashhuda Glencross, Loughborough University, UK | Author profile



  • Reyyan Ayfer, Bilkent University, Turkey | Author profile
  • Michel Beaudouin-Lafon, Universite Paris-Sud, France | Author profile
  • Josep Díaz Cort, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain | Author profile
  • Carlo Ghezzi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy | Author profile
  • Paola Inverardi, University of L'Aquila, Italy | Author profile
  • Matthias Kaiserswerth, IBM Research - Zurich, Switzerland | Author profile
  • Andrew McGettrick, University of Strathclyde, Scotland | Author profile
  • Avi Mendelson, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology | Author profile
  • Bertrand Meyer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland | Author profile
  • Natasa Milic-Frayling, Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK | Author profile
  • Burkhard Neidecker-Lutz, Research Division, SAP AG, Germany | Author profile
  • Gerhard Schimpf, Chair, German ACM Chapter, Pforzheim, Germany | Author profile
  • Marc Shapiro, INRIA and LIP6, France | Author profile
  • Paul Spirakis, University of Patras and the Greek Computer Technologies Institute, Greece | Author profile
  • Per Stenström, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden | Author profile
  • Serdar Tasiran, Koc University, Istanbul, Turkey | Author profile
  • Alexander Wolf, Department of Computing, Imperial College London, UK | Author profile

Joint Society Member Discounts

ACM's reciprocal membership agreements with international societies


For more information on ACM Europe contact: