Education Policy Committee

The ACM Education Policy Committee is a high-level committee of acclaimed computer scientists and educators dedicated to improving opportunities for quality education in computer science and computing-related fields. Chaired by Bobby Schnabel, Dean of the School of Informatics and Computing at Indiana University, the Education Policy Committee develops initiatives aimed at shaping education policies that impact the computing field. A primary goal of the EPC is to ensure that computer science education is recognized in educational initiatives at all levels of the educational pipeline.


The Education Policy Committee will engage educators, industry, policymakers, and the public on public policy issues in computer science and computing-related education. It will focus on steps to ensure that high-quality computer science education is identified as a critical component of education policy.
The Education Policy Committee will:

  • Review, research and gather data and information on issues that impact computer science and computing-related education in primary, secondary, and higher education systems
  • Determine if current education policies and the education systems generally are adequately serving the computing field and recommend improvements
  • Comment on proposals before governmental bodies that impact computer science education and the computing field
  • Educate policymakers and the public on the foundational role and importance of computer science education, its importance as a core discipline within science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education, and its importance to the labor market and the economy
  • Provide expertise on key computer science education policy issues to education, industry, and policy leaders


Members 2014-2016

  • ​ Jeffrey Forbes (Chair)
    • Duke University
  • ​ Joanna Goode
    • University of Oregon
  • ​ Susanne Hambrusch
    • Purdue University
  • ​ Elizabeth Hawthorne
    • Union County College
  • ​ J Strother Moore
    • University of Texas
  • Mark Nelson
    • Computer Science Teachers Association
  • ​ Kelly Powers
    • Education Development Center
  • ​ Susan Rodger
    • Duke University
  • Deborah Seehorn
    • Computer Science Teachers Association
  • ​ Chris Stephenson
    • Google
  • ​ Mark Stehlik Senior Adviser
    • Carnegie Mellon University
  • ​ Eugene Spafford ex officio
    • ACM U.S. Public Policy Council Chair
    • Purdue University

ACM Reports

ACM Statements

SIGCSE 2016, Mar. 2–5, Memphis, Tennessee

The SIGCSE Technical Symposium addresses problems common among educators working to develop, implement and/or evaluate computing programs, curricula, and courses. Scheduled keynote speakers are John Sweller, Professor Emeritus at the University of New South Wales, and Karen Lee Ashcraft, an educational psychologist at the University of Colorado Boulder.


Why I Belong to ACM

Hear from Brian Cantrill, vice president of engineering at Joyent, Ben Fried chief information officer at Google, and Theo Schlossnagle, OmniTI founder on why they are members of ACM.

Get Involved with ACM

ACM is a volunteer-led and member-driven organization. Everything ACM accomplishes is through the efforts of people like you. A wide range of activities keep ACM moving, including organizing conferences, editing journals, reviewing papers and participating on boards and committees, to name just a few. Find out all the ways that you can volunteer with ACM.